State-Specific Car Accident Laws in FloridaJacksonville Accident News
You have been injured in a car accident in Florida and suffered serious injuries as a result. After a car accident, one of the most important first steps to take is to ensure that you are not suffering from life-threatening injuries by being evaluated at a hospital. From there, it is important that you immediately speak with a Florida car accident attorney who understands the many laws and regulations that apply to these cases within the state. Because every state is different when it comes to their laws, it is important to find out where you stand and what laws apply to your case.
Statute of Limitations on Car Accidents in Florida
The reason why many attorneys urge you to act quickly and obtain legal help immediately following a car accident is because of what is known as the ‘statute of limitations.’ These are the time limits that have been set by the courts providing a time limit on filing a case against the person responsible for the accident. If you try to file your lawsuit against a reckless party and these time limits have already passed, then Florida courts are allowed to dismiss your case unless you have extenuating circumstances for which a judge can grant an extension. In Florida, the statute of limitations on personal injury claims is four years from the date of your accident.
In Florida, the state has enacted what is known as ‘comparative negligence’ laws, which means that there are rules put in place to allow partial liability to be placed on both of the parties involved in the accident. Let’s take an example into consideration: Say that you have approximately $100,000 in bills due to your car accident for physical injuries and medical expenses. However, the jury decides that you are 40% at-fault for your own accident. This means that you will only be entitled to 60% of the $100,000 in compensation. Based on the court’s decision, you will receive $60,000 from the other party’s insurance company as full and fair compensation. This is how comparative negligence plays a role in a personal injury claim.
Reporting a Florida Car Accident
There are rules and regulations which must be followed when it pertains to reporting your Florida car accident. If a car accident resulted in injuries, vehicle damage of at least $500, or a fatality, it is the law to report a Florida car accident to the local police department. It is illegal to flee the scene of an accident under any circumstances in Florida. Not only will police be able to assist those in need after an accident when they are called to the scene, but they will also be able to prepare an official police report, which can play an important role in your claim down the road.
How a Florida Car Accident Attorney Can Help
The aftermath of a Florida car accident can be a scary time in many people’s lives. As you are faced with serious physical injuries, you may be concerned about how you will move forward and obtain the compensation you deserve. At Sheftall & Associates, our Florida accident attorneys understand how difficult these times can be as you bring your personal injury claim against a negligent party. We are here to provide you with the resources you need to move forward. Please contact an accident attorney at (904) 575-9026 to find out what options are available for you at this time.