Who Can Access a Car Crash Report in Florida?Jacksonville Accident News
In the state of Florida, it is required that police officers report a car accident if any of the following occurs:
- Individuals involved in the car accident were injured.
- There was a fatality after the crash took place.
- The crash was a result of a hit-and-run incident.
- The crash involved a drunk driver.
- A vehicle was damaged so badly that it had to be professionally removed from the scene.
- A commercial vehicle was involved in the crash.
- The damage that resulted from the crash cost at least $500.
After a crash, it is critical to call law enforcement. Especially if the crash is severe and significant destruction and physical bodily harm or death resulted. Even if you are unharmed and you call 911 as directed under Florida laws, Florida statute 316.065 requires that you stay at the accident scene until first responders arrive. Leaving the scene of an accident could result in the incident being classified as a hit-and-run crash.
For a minor fender bender, it is possible for the parties involved to report the crash themselves. Similarly, if you are in a crash where another object is damaged where the list above does not apply it is also possible to report the crash yourself.
Can You Get a Copy of Your Crash Report in Florida?
If you were involved in a serious crash and where the police had to come to the scene, they will have filed a crash report. That report is not immediately available for your to view and get a copy of. It can take as many as 10 days before you can have access to your Florida crash report. When it is accessible, those involved in the crash can view it and buy a copy of it for their records. It takes 60 days after the filing of the crash report before it will be made public.
The state of Florida takes the information in crash reports seriously. Meaning that if details of a crash report are disclosed to a party that is not eligible to have that information before the report is public, there are criminal charges that will apply. A third-degree felony will likely ensue. So, both the person that supplied the unlawful information and the person trying to obtain the information can be subject to criminal repercussions under the law.
What Happens if You Fail to Report Your Florida Car Accident?
If you did not report your crash but were supposed to because it was a crash that had at least one of the criteria for doing so, this is a violation. In Florida, there is a fine for not reporting a reportable accident but the infraction is not considered criminal. When your crash has any of the qualifying criteria, you need to report it.
Sometimes, there are instances where immediately reporting a crash is impossible. For example, if you are so badly hurt from your crash that you physically cannot report it verbally or in writing right away, then the law understands these circumstances. Once you are healed enough from your injuries that you can make your report, you will have to do so then.
Other times, parties that are not the driver will be responsible for making a crash report. If you had others in the car with you and you cannot immediately report your crash but one of these passengers does have the capacity to make the report, they must. If you own a car that was operated by another driver at the time of the crash, and that person has been physically immobilized then you as the owner will have to make the report. This is true if the driver of your car was so badly injured that in 10 days’ time, they still cannot report the incident themself.
If you were the victim of a car accident in Jacksonville, getting connected to an experienced legal professional is critical. When your damages are considerable, you can expect that the associated costs will also be substantial. Getting all the compensation you are entitled to for your current expenses as well as those you are expected to have in the future is essential.
The Jacksonville car accident attorneys at the Law Offices of Sheftall & Associates understand how traumatic and upsetting car accidents can be. While catastrophic car accidents in Florida happen with high frequency, so do deadly accidents, and also those car accidents that have minimal damages. Regardless, any collision can be shocking and cause emotional pain. All car accidents also have the potential to inflict some amount of injury. Working with a knowledgeable lawyer can improve a victim’s ability to recover the most amount of compensation possible after their crash.
How Often Do Car Accidents Take Place in Florida?
Car accidents happen every day across the nation and in the state of Florida. Florida as a state regularly ranks in the top five for most car accidents reported each year. In 2020, there were over 340,000 crashes. Well over 3,000 were fatal and the majority resulted in injuries. There were 212,432 of those crashes that were reported in 2020 which had some severity of physical bodily harm.
If you live in Florida, the risk of being in a cataclysmic injury accident is elevated. Knowing your rights and understanding what to do after your crash is important. This may include informing the authorities and filing a report. When injuries result, seeking medical attention as soon after the incident is necessary to promote full and proper recovery. Also, speaking with a Jacksonville personal injury attorney can help you better manage your personal injury claim.
Call a Jacksonville Car Accident Attorney Today
If you were injured after a car accident in Florida or if a loved one was harmed an attorney can assist you with your claim.
To schedule a free consultation to discuss your accident experience, please call the Jacksonville car accident lawyers at the Law Offices of Sheftall & Associates today at (904) 638-7712.